Last Wednesday’s blog post explored certain elements of Texas divorce, including no-fault divorce provisions and the concept of “insupportability,” as well as the various residency requirements that must be met in order to secure a divorce in our state.
(Please see “Texas Divorce – I” for more information)
Today’s post will continue to explore various aspects of Texas’ divorce laws and attempt to clarify any common misperceptions.
The Time Needed To Secure a Texas Divorce
Due to the magnitude of the familial and financial considerations involved, it is not surprising that the time required to secure a divorce is one of the primary concerns on a person’s mind.
Texas law states that no divorce can be finalized until at least 60 days have passed. (These 60 days begin to run once a person files the divorce petition with the court.) However, it is important to note that the divorce process may actually last several months or even several years.
If you and your spouse are unable to agree on important issues (i.e., child custody, child support, spousal maintenance or property division) and must rely on the court system to help settle your differences, the divorce process will more than likely take much longer. Conversely, if you and your spouse are able to agree on important issues, the divorce process will probably be much shorter.
When a Texas Divorce is Final
When the judge signs the divorce decree, your Texas divorce is considered final. You will be free to move forward with your life.
Under Texas law, a former spouse has 30 days after the date of the final divorce decree to pursue an appeal. For this reason, you will have to wait at least 30 days after the signing of the divorce decree to remarry.
Future posts will continue to examine divorce in the state of Texas.
This post is for informational purposes only and is not to be construed as legal advice. Contact a legal professional to learn more about your family law issue.
- Texas Family Code, Title 1, Subtitle C (Texas Constitution and Statutes)